## Brief report on the ISC GeoUnions Standing Committee on Disaster Risk Reduction

The GeoUnions Standing Committee on Disaster Risk Reduction (ISC-GU-SC-DRR) was established in July 2020, initiated and lead by Prof. Orhan Altan, who was nominated by the International Science Council (ISC) GeoUnions Steering Committee and ISPRS. The newly established Committee seeks to strengthen the long-standing ISC leadership in advancing DRR. It also honours the ISC's (former ICSU's) role in preparation of world conferences on DRR. The Committee aims to:

- Facilitate communication amongst international geoscience bodies, and governmental and non-governmental organizations, to identify, support and advance initiatives to implement the Sendai Framework through interdisciplinary action.
- Coordinate and support implementation initiatives for disaster risk management in accordance with the principles and goals of the Sendai Framework.
- Organize conferences and workshops at regional and global level to advance disaster risk management initiatives.
- Advise on the rationale and role that science should play in disaster risk management and work to strengthen that rationale and role.
- Increase the awareness and action by the GeoUnions in Disaster Risk Reduction and the implementation of the Sendai Framework as further defined by the ISC report, and focus that interest through the publication of periodic reports on its progress.
- Seek financing to continue its activities. The Committee works with ISC and possible other donors and/or agencies to consider options for adequate funding.
- Release statements on the changing situation in DRR from time to time.

The Committee includes a maximum of 10 regular voting members. The representatives of the GeoUnions comprise the sustaining members. The following GeoUnions will be represented:

- International Astronomical Union (IAU)
- International Cartographic Association (ICA)
- International Geographical Union (IGU)
- International Society for Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing (ISPRS)
- International Union of Geodesy and Geophysics (IUGG)
- International Union of Geological Sciences (IUGS)
- International Union of Quaternary Research (INQUA)
- International Union of Radio Sciences (URSI)
- International Union of Soil Sciences (IUSS)

Prof. Jie Jiang and Prof. Sisi Zlatanova were appointed as ISPRS representatives to this new committee. In addition to ISPRS, the GeoUnions members IUGG, IGU, IUGS, URSI and INQUA have also appointed their representatives.

Under the leadership of Professor Orhan Altan, work commenced following the first virtual meeting on 1 July 2020, where the Committee discussed and formulated the Terms of

Chair: **ORHAN ALTAN** ISC/ISPRS, TURKEY Email: oaltan@itu.edu.tr Co-Chair: ALEXANDER RUDLOFF IUGG, GERMANY Email: sg@iugg.org

Members: ANIKA BRAUN, INQUA, GERMANY JIE JIANG, ISPRS, CHINA JOHN LA BRECQUE, IUGG, USA JOHN LUDDEN, IUGS, UK MADHU CHANDRA, USRI, GERMANY PEJJUN SHI, IGU, CHINA R.B. SINGH, IGU, INDIA SISI ZLATANOVA, ISPRS, AUSTRALIA TULIO JOSEPH TANZI, URSI, FRANCE Reference. At the second meeting on 16 September 2020, Dr. Alexander Rudloff was unanimously elected as co-chair. The website of the committee was activated and jointly developed: <u>http://www.iscgdrr.com/</u>

At the meetings No. 3 (19 November 2020) and No. 4 (4 December 2020), two draft policy briefs were intensively discussed. The meeting No. 5 (15 January 2021) focused on the planning of the next GI4DM conference, to be held in Beijing, China in November 2021. At the last meeting No. 6 (4 February 2021) new members from INQUA and IUGS joined the committee.

Sisi Zlatanova, Jie Jiang 5 March 2021