The Frederick J Doyle Award

The Frederick J. Doyle Award (2012) will be awarded to an individual who has made significant accomplishments in advancing the photogrammetry, remote sensing and spatial information sciences and technologies. A recipient of the award should typically be less than 50 years of age and have outstanding stature within the ISPRS community. The award consists of a silver medal and a monetary grant. The winner in 2012 is **Christian Heipke**, Germany.



Professor Dr Christian **Heipke's** experience in all photogrammetry and remote sensing at a time when geographic information systems were being developed and used operationally to integrate and analyze digital data led to his well-rounded career in capacity geoinformation. In his as Head of the Institute of Photogrammetry and GeoInformation at Leibniz Universität Hannover, Professor Heipke has supervised more than 20 Ph.D. theses. He and his students have written over 270 scientific publications with 70 in the top peer reviewed journals of our field including ISPRS Journal of Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing, Photogrammetric Engineering & Remote Sensing, International Journal of Geoinformation Science,

Planetary and Space Science, Machine Vision and Applications, Geoinformation and Photogrammetric Record.

Professor Heipke has been the Guest Editor of major international journals in photogrammetry and remote sensing and serves on the Editorial Boards of several international journals. He was Vice-President of EuroSDR (2004-2009) and is currently Chair of the German Geodetic Commission.

In addition to being active in ISPRS, Professor Heipke is an ordinary member of the Braunschweig Scientific Society (BWG) and acatech - the German Academy for Technical Sciences. Furthermore, he is a member of the German Society for Geodesy, Geoinformation and Land Management (DVW), the German Society for Photogrammetry, Remote Sensing and Geoinformation (DGPF), the German Society for Pattern Recognition (DAGM), the American Society for Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing (ASPRS), and the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE).

Professor Heipke has demonstrated excellence in leadership and contribution to ISPRS through his biannual organization and hosting of one of the highest quality international workshops entitled "High-Resolution Earth Imaging for Geospatial Information" at the Institute of Photogrammetry and GeoInformation, Leibniz Universität Hannover.

In summary, Professor Heipke deserves the ISPRS Frederick Doyle Award because of his outstanding leadership in digital photogrammetry, remote sensing, image analysis, sensor orientation, GIS and computer vision. He has made major contributions to the geospatial profession through his biannual international workshop on high-resolution Earth imaging for geospatial information, and he continues to shape our profession and the direction of geospatial research. The jury considers that Christian Heipke is following in the footsteps of our esteemed colleague, Frederick Doyle, as an educator, scientist and professional society leader.