ISPRS Honorary Member

An individual is elected as a Honorary Member in recognition of distinguished services to the ISPRS and its aims. Honorary Members shall be nominated by a committee, chaired by the most recent Honorary Member and composed of members from the current and three previous Councils, and elected by the Congress. There may not be more than ten living Honorary Members of the Society at any given time. The Committee has nominated Ian Dowman (United Kingdom) and Li Deren (China) for election as Honorary Members of ISPRS.



Emeritus Professor Ian Dowman is nominated for Honorary Membership of ISPRS in recognition of his long and distinguished services to ISPRS and its aims. Ian has held many roles and responsibilities within the Society, up to and including the office of President. Ian's contribution has been not only as an Officer of the Society; he has also made a significant research contribution to diverse ISPRS Commissions and Working Groups throughout his career, which has covered major developments in both photogrammetry and remote sensing and in the synergy between them. He has also participated in many other events in which he had no direct

leadership role. Ian's proactive approach has ensured that the Society has turned many of these changes to its advantage.

lan has had a very distinguished academic career at University College London (UCL). He gained his formal academic qualifications at UCL, completing a BSc in Geography, and a Diploma and PhD in Photogrammetry. After a short period working as a survey practitioner in Australia, he returned to UCL where he has held many academic positions including Dean of Engineering. From 1991 to 2008 he was Professor of Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing, a clear mark of the University authorities' recognition of his ability as a teacher as well as his contribution to the international research community in these fields.

Besides a sustained involvement with ISPRS, Ian has found time to make a significant contribution to organisations in the UK Including the Royal Institution of Chartered Surveyors (RICS), the Photogrammetric Society he was President, and he was elected an Honorary Member in 1999. Ian has also been Chairman of the Scientific Committee of the Organisation Européenne d'Etudes Photogrammétriques Expérimentales (OEEPE, now EuroSDR, a Regional Member of ISPRS). He has been awarded many honours for his work. Such a distinguished and sustained international contribution in support of the activities and aims of the International Society for Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing is presented as being worthy of Honorary Membership of ISPRS.

Professor Dr. Li Deren, scientist in photogrammetry and remote sensing, holds dual membership in both the Chinese Academy of Sciences and the Chinese Academy of Engineering, is member of the Euro-Asia International Academy of Science, and honorary doctor of ETH Zürich. At present, he is Professor and PhD supervisor of Wuhan University, Vice-President of the Chinese Society of Geodesy, Photogrammetry and Cartography, Vice-president of Hubei Association for Science and Technology (HAST), Chair of the Academic Committee of Wuhan University and the State Key Laboratory of Information Engineering in Surveying, Mapping and Remote Sensing (LIESMARS).

In the 1980s, Professor Li Deren was mainly engaged in the studies of observation errors and processing methods in geodesy and photogrammetry. In 1985, he completed theoretical research in the

separability of model errors, which advanced the reliability theory to the separability phase. The result of this study received the 1988 Best Paper Award of the German Society of Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing, and Hansa Luftbild Award. From 1990 up to now Professor Li has concentrated on the research and education in geo-spatial information science and technology represented by remote sensing (RS), global positioning system (GPS) and geographic information systems (GIS).

Since 1989 Professor Li Deren has supervised 170 PhD students and 18 postdoctoral candidates. He has published over 709 papers and 11 books. He won one prize of the National Great Invention Award, three prizes of the National Science and Technology Progress Award, one prize of the National Excellent Textbook Award and one prize of the Award of the Excellent Educational Achievements.

Professor Li Deren served as President of ISPRS Technical Commissions III and VI from 1988-1992 and 1992-1996 respectively. He worked for CEOS in 2002-2004 and was the first President of Asia GIS Association (2003-2006). He received the Samuel G. Gamble Award at the ISPRS XXI Congress in 2008 and received an award in appreciation and recognition of the outstanding contribution to the success and achievements of the MOST/ESA Dragon Programme 2004 to 2007. Since 2010 he is ISPRS Fellow.

Li Deren is nominated as an Honorary Member for distinguished service to ISPRS and for his contribution to the science of photogrammetry, remote sensing and spatial information science in China and internationally.