ISPRS Fellowships

An **ISPRS Fellow** is elected by the Society in recognition of sustained, excellent service to the ISPRS and its aims.

The following persons have been selected to receive ISPRS Fellowships in 2012 by the Fellowship Nomination Committee.



Dieter Fritsch (Germany)



Professor Dr Dieter Fritsch received his Dipl.-Ing. Surveying from the University of Bonn in 1977 and his PhD in Signal Processing, also from Bonn, in 1982. He received his Habilitation in Geographical Information Systems (GIS), from the Technical University of Munich. Since 1992 he has been Full Professor and Director of the Institute for

Photogrammetry, University of Stuttgart. Dieter Fritsch has chaired or cochaired various WGs of the International Society for Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing (ISPRS) and from 1996-2000 was President ISPRS Technical Commission IV "Mapping and GIS". He is a member of the ISPRS ad-hoc Committee "Knowledge Transfer" and Chairman Board of Trustees The ISPRS Foundation (TIF). He has been active in IAG and EuroSDR in which he is Vice President of Research

Dieter Fritsch has held senior position in the University of Stuttgart, including being President from 2000-2006. He was the academic co-Founder of the German University in Cairo (GUC), Egypt, and Member GUC Board of Trustees; 2002-2005: He is a member Board of Directors Leica Geosystems, Heerbrugg, Switzerland from 2004 to the present and holds other positions in commercial and academic organisations. Since 1992 he has been organizer of the biennial symposium "The Photogrammetric Week Series. He is Author of 16 books and more than 300 publications.

Martien Molenaar (The Netherlands)



Professor Dr Martien Molenaar is with the Department of Geo-Information Processing Faculty of Geo-Information Science and Earth Observation (ITC) University of Twente. He has a Doctors degree in Geodesy of Delft Technical University. He was a senior lecturer at ITC (1973-1983) and a professor of GIS and Remote Sensing at Wageningen University (1983-1996). In 1996 he returned to the ITC as a

full professor in Geoinformatics and Spatial Data Acquisition. From 2001 to 2009 he was Rector of the ITC, the International Institute for Geoinformation Science and Earth Observation. He is President of the Netherlands Geodetic Commission. He was also President of the Netherlands Photogrammetric Society and later of the Netherlands Society for Earth Observation and Geoinformation. He has been active in ISPRS since 1976 in many different positions, as chair of several working groups, as Director of the technical program of the Amsterdam 2000 Congress, as co-founder of the Amsterdam 2000 Trust Fund, as trustee of The ISPRS Foundation, as member of ISAC and for the term 2008-2012 as President of ISPRS Technical Commission VI on Education and Outreach. Through his work he has been involved in international projects, consulting missions and he has been lecturing in many countries in Europe, Africa, Asia and Latin America. He has written more than 200 scientific publications on geodesy, photogrammetry, spatial data modeling, remote sensing and GIS.

Shailesh Nayak (India)



Dr. Shailesh Nayak has been the Chairman, Earth System Science Organization, Government of India since 2008. He obtained a PhD degree in Geology from the M.S University of Baroda in 1980. He joined the Space Applications Centre, ISRO in 1978, and led projects related to ocean colour, coastal zone, snow and glacier, and water resources.

Shailesh Nayak, as the Director of the Indian National Centre for Ocean Information Services, Hyderabad, set up a state-of-the-art Tsunami Warning System around GIS. He developed Marine GIS, and built services related to fishery, ocean state and hazards. Currently, he is responsible to establish National GIS in India. Shailesh Nayak has been awarded the prestigious ISCA Vikram Sarabhai Memorial Award 2012, Bhaskara Award for 2009, Indian National Remote Sensing Award for 1994, and Doctor of Science, by Andhra University in 2011. He has served the Indian Remote Sensing Society (ISRS) since 1983 and became President during 2008-2010. He has been actively involved in promoting ISPRS since 1994 and involved in activities of Commission I and VII, and became the President, ISPRS Technical Commission IV on 'Geo-databases and Digital Mapping' for the term 2004-08. Shailesh Nayak has published about 80 papers in SCI journals.

Paul Newby (UK)



Educated at Cambridge University, the School of Military Survey and University College London, Paul Newby was a land surveyor in UK government service (1966–1994), both overseas (mapping for development in Africa, the West Indies and Indonesia) and at the Ordnance Survey of Great Britain (researcher and manager, with main interests in

digital photogrammetry and quality management). After taking early retirement, Paul's career included occasional university lecturing, starting a business intelligence company, Geo-UK Ltd. (1994–1998) and becoming a freelance technical translator (from German and French into English) covering geomatics and its applications, notably working for Swisstopo, contributing to the survey and mapping sections of the Swiss government's multilingual terminological database and providing words

destined for the walls of the Swiss Parliament and for the Swiss Alpine Museum, thus drawing together his twin loves of geography and mountaineering. He eventually found his true vocation as Editor of *The Photogrammetric Record* (1999–2011) and published the *Record*'s "Terminology Guide" (2007), later officially adopted by ISPRS. He first attended an ISPRS Symposium in 1982, was Chairman of WG IV/3 (Map and Database Revision, 1988–96), Vice President of the Photogrammetric Society (1997–99) and UK Delegate to ISPRS General Assembly from 2004.

Heinz Rüther (South Africa)



Emeritus Professor Heinz Rüther graduated in 1969 with the Degree of Diplom–Ingenieur at the University of Bonn, joined the University of Cape Town in 1972 and obtained his Ph.D. in Photogrammetry at UCT in 1982. He is a Fellow of the University of Cape Town, a Fellow of the South African Academy of Engineers, a Member of the South

African Academy of Science and an Honorary Member of GISA. He was treasurer of ISPRS from 1996-2000, and former Chair of the Financial Commission of ISPRS as well as former Vice President of the African Association for Remote Sensing of Environment. At present he serves on the Governing Board of HIST, a joint initiative of the Chinese Academy of Science and UNESCO. From 1990 to his retirement in 2007, he was the Head of the Geomatics Department/Division at the University of Cape Town and Scientific Coordinator of the Lake Rukwa Basin Integrated Project in Tanzania from 2004 to 2007. Since 2005 he leads the African Cultural Heritage Sites and Landscapes Project as Principal Investigator. Over recent years Professor Rüther's special interest has been focused on the area of digital spatial documentation of architectural structures, heritage sites and historical landscapes with a special emphasis on Africa. He has served on the executive of CIPA (the International Committee for Photogrammetry in Architecture) and for the past 15 years he has served as ISPRS representative on the CIPA committee; he is National CIPA delegate for South Africa and a member of ICOMOS South Africa.

e: