The U.V. Helava Award

The U.V. Helava Award, sponsored by Elsevier B.V. and Hexagon Geosystems, was established to encourage and stimulate submission of high quality scientific papers by individual authors or groups to the ISPRS Journal of Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing, to promote and advertise the Journal, and to honour the outstanding contributions of Dr. Uuno V. Helava to research and development in Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing. The award consists of a monetary grant of SFr. 10,000, certificates and a silver plaque, partly funded by the Institute of Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing, of the Aalto University, Finland. The plaque was designed by the 1980-88 ISPRS Technical Commission III President, Einari Kilpelä, previously Professor at the Helsinki University of Technology.



A five-member jury, comprising experts of high scientific standing, whose expertise covers the main topics included in the scope of the Journal, evaluated 261 papers for the period 2008-2011. For each year of the four

year evaluation period, the Best Paper was selected and has been announced in the ISPRS Journal, ISPRS Newsletter, and on the websites of ISPRS and Elsevier. The paper receiving the Helava Award was selected from these four papers.

The 2008-2011 U.V. Helava Award is presented to









Konrad Schindler,

Andreas Ess,

Bastian Leibe,

and Luc Van Gool

for their paper

"Automatic detection and tracking of pedestrians from a moving stereo rig", published in 2010.

The jury stated that the paper presents a sophisticated system to detect and track pedestrians from moving vehicles. It combines close-range photogrammetry of dynamic scenes and automatic image understanding. The topic is highly relevant for ground based navigation systems. The objective, namely to have a real time interpretation system, is challenging. The paper gives insight into the different modules and presents an impressive quantitative evaluation. It is well organized, interesting, and easy to read.