ISPRS at the ICSU General Assembly in Auckland

International Council for Science (ICSU) is a non-governmental organization with a global membership of national scientific bodies (121 Members, representing 141 countries) and International Scientific Unions (33 Members). ICSU's mission is to strengthen international science for the benefit of society. Planning and coordinating research, science for policy and strengthening the universality of science are the three key areas of the Council's activities. ICSU is frequently called upon to speak on behalf of the global scientific community and to act as an advisor in matters ranging from the environment to conduct in science. The 31th General Assembly of ICSU was announcing the developments at the Flagship Program "Future Earth".

ISPRS President Chen Jun and Secretary General Christian Heipke have participated to the General Assembly and other associated meetings At Welcome and Opening of the General Assembly to which The Prime Minister of New Zealand, Right Honorable John Key have participated Sir Peter Gluckman, Chief Science Advisor to the Prime Minister of New Zealand have spoken on "The changing nature of science; can scientists rise to the challenge". Besides the normal agenda items there were 3 invited lectures given by Nancy Bertler (Associate Professor, Antarctic Research Centre, Victoria University of Wellington) on the "Potential collapse of the West Antarctic Ice Sheet – Implications for Global Sea Level", Bruce Alberts (Chancellor's Leadership Chair in Biochemistry and Biophysics for Science and Education, University of California, San Francisco; Former President, US National Academy of Sciences) on the "Spreading Science for All" and Mark C. Quigley (Associate Professor at the University of Canterbury) on the "Predicting and reducing the impacts of future earthquakes".

ISPRS 1St Vice President Orhan ALTAN was elected to the Executive Board of the (ICSU) at its 31th General Assembly on the 4th September 2014 in Auckland. He was nominated by the Geo-Union cluster of ICSU. It is the second term of his membership in the Executive Board. ISPRS is one of the eight unions of the Geo-Unions cluster in ICSU and has played an active role in ICSU activities, such as the health and well-being studies, and disaster management-related programs.

Professor Daya Reddy, an internationally recognized mathematician from South Africa, today became the new President-elect of the International Council for Science and China-Taipei is selected to host the 32nd General Assembly in 2017.

For detailed information please visit www.icsu.org.



Figure Capture: ISPRS at the UCU General Assembly - from left to right: Christian Heipke, Orhan Altan, Chen Jun