# **Decisions of the General Assembly – ISPRS XXth Congress**

### Ratification of Council Actions

The General Assembly:

- Ratified the actions of Council to register ISPRS as a Not for Profit Corporation in Maryland USA
- Rescinded the postal vote to change bylaws so that ISPRS could register in Switzerland
- Ratified the appointment of the ISPRS Lawyer
- Ratified the establishment of the ISPRS Foundation

#### Awards and MoUs

The General Assembly ratified the following:

- Acceptance of the Wang Zhizhuo Award from China
- Revision of Terms of Reference for Awards
- Acceptance of Gifts for Young Authors and CATCon
- Signing Memoranda of Understanding with: SPIE, IEEE-GRSS, UN Office of Outer Space Affairs

### Ratification of Contracts

The General Assembly ratified the following contracts:

- GITC for distributing the Archives
- ISPRS Marketing Manager
- GITC for publishing Highlights
- Elsevier for publishing the ISPRS Journal
- Swets and Zeitlinger to publish the ISPRS Book Series
- ISPRS Webmaster
- Congress Director and Magister Tours for the Congress
- Seven Members for hosting Technical Commission Symposia.

#### **Membership**

The General Assembly

- Admitted a new Regional Member from Kenya Regional Centre for Mapping of Resources for Development (RCMRD)
- Deceased the category of India from 8 to 6
- Raised the category of Turkey and Israel
- Expelled 14 Ordinary Members for non payment of subscriptions
- Approved expulsion of 6 Ordinary members in 2 years time if subscriptions not paid
- Expelled 3 Associate Members for non payment of subscriptions
- Approved expulsion of 1 Associate Member in 2 years time if subscriptions not paid
- Approved expulsion of 1 Regional Member for non payment of subscriptions

### **Elections**

The General Assembly elected the Members to Host the Technical Commissions 2004 - 2008:

- **Commission I** France with Alain Baudoin as Commission President

Commission II
Commission III
Commission III
Austria with Dr.Wolfgang Kainz as Commission President
Germany with Prof. Dr Wolgang Förstner as Commission

President

Commission IV
Commission V
India with Mr. Shailesh Nayak as Commission President
Germany with Prof Dr. Hans-Gerd Maas as Commission

President

- Commission VI Japan with Dr. Kohei Cho as Commission President

- Commission VII Netherlands with Prof. John van Genderen as

**Commission President** 

- Commission VIII Israel with Dr. Ammatzia Peled as Commission President

#### **Elections**

The General Assembly:

• elected China to host the 2008 Congress.

• elected, ratified or appointed Council for 2004 - 2008:

President Ian Dowman, United Kingdom

Secretary General
Congress Director
Treasurer
1st Vice President
2nd Vice President
Orhan Altan, Turkey
Chen Jun, China
Stanley Morain, USA
John Trinder, Australia
Emmanuel Baltsavias

## **Elections**

The General Assembly:

• elected the Financial Commission for 2004-2008

Petros Patias (Chair) GreeceCostas Armenakis Canada

Lena Halounová
Czech Republic

### Statutes, Bylaws and Resolutions

The General Assembly:

- Approved changes to the Statutes and Bylaws
- Authorised Council to consider expanding the number of Honorary Members
- Approved the Resolutions for 2004 2008
- Agreed not to change the unit of subscription
- Approved the establishment of a new category (E) of Sustaining Member