

WELCOME TO THE XXI ISPRS CONGRESS

Introduction by the Congress Director, Chen Jun



INTRODUCTION BY THE CONGRESS DIRECTOR, CHEN JUN

The quadrennial Congress of the International Society for Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing (ISPRS) was held on 3-11 July 2008 in the historical and beautiful city of Beijing, where the XXIXth Olympic Games were to take place one month later. Before the opening of the Congress, Chinese Vice Premier Li Keqiang met with the ISPRS Council members and the representatives of the Congress participants on behalf of the Central People's Government of China.

The Congress was officially opened on July 3 at the Beijing International Convention Center (BICC). The Opening Ceremony was chaired by Prof. Yang Kai, President of the Chinese Society of Geodesy, Photogrammetry and Cartography (CSGPC). Welcoming addresses were delivered by Prof. Ian Dowman, President of ISPRS, and Mr. Lu Xinshe, Vice Minister, Ministry of Land and Resources, and Director General, State Bureau of Surveying and Mapping of China. The Wang Zhizhuo Award, sponsored by CSGPC, was conferred to its inaugural winner Prof. Chris Gold at the Opening Ceremony.

After the Opening Ceremony, the participants were invited to a brilliant evening at the central garden of the BICC for a fine welcome reception. In the pleasant atmosphere and with the accompanying melodious traditional Chinese music, the participants had the chance of meeting old acquaintances, making new ones and exchanging news and views.

One week before the official opening of the Congress, the 3rd ISPRS Summer School was held jointly with the Chinese GIS Doctoral Students Forum at Nanjing Normal University. The two events gathered over 200 lecturers and participants from around the world. On July 2-3, nine tutorials and six workshops were held at the Congress venue. There were 158 attendees to the nine tutorials and 411 attendees to the six workshops.

The General Assemblies, which form the focus of the Congress for the National Delegates and Advisers from each Ordinary Member of ISPRS, were held on July 3, 5, 7 and 9 to determine the policy of the Society and to provide the Council with the authority for all significant decisions. The four meetings of the General Assembly formed a vital part of operation of ISPRS, not only electing the office holders for the next four years but also ensuring that the elected Council carries out the

democratically determined wishes and policies of the Ordinary Members.

The eight ISPRS Technical Commission Presidents for 2008-2012 were elected at the General Assembly as follows:

TCI	Canada	Naser El-Sheimy
TCII	Hong Kong, China	Wenzhong Shi
TCIII	France	Nicolas Paparoditis
TCIV	USA	Marguerite Madden
TCV	UK	Jonathan Mills
TCVI	Netherlands	Martien Molenaar
TCVII	Austria	Wolfgang Wagner
TCVIII	Japan	Haruhisa Shimoda

The bid from Australia to host the ISPRS 2012 Congress in Melbourne was approved by the General Assembly.

The ISPRS Council for 2008-2012 were elected, appointed or ratified as follows:

President	Orhan Altan, Turkey
Secretary General	Chen Jun, China
Congress Director	Cliff Ogleby, Australia
Treasurer	Mike Renslow, USA
First Vice President	lan Dowman, UK
Second Vice President	Ammatzia Peled, Israel

Lena Halounova, Czech Republic was elected Chairman of the Financial Commission and the two remaining posts on the Commission were filled by Marie-Jose Lefevre-Fonollosa, France and Myriam Ardila, Columbia.

Necessary amendments to ISPRS Statutes and Bylaws were also duly ratified. Fellowship was added as a new type of membership to fill the gap between awards and Honorary Membership. The five members of the Fellowship Committee were elected including Kohei Cho (Japan), Petros Patios (Greece), John Trinder (Australia), Marguerite Madden (USA) and Gottfried Konecny (Germany). The Regional Representatives of the Council were appointed including Olajide Kufoniyi (Nigeria) for Africa, Myriam Ardila-Torres (Columbia) for South America, and Suvit Vibulsresth (Thailand) for South-east Asia.

The Beijing Declaration, the first of its kind in the history of ISPRS, was passed by the General Assembly. The declaration is a formal statement of the ISPRS mission to promote the peaceful use of geo-spatial technology for the benefit of society and



the environment. Highlighting how ISPRS can help to solve some global problems, the Declaration calls on the international community to support scientific research and development, promotes the sharing of data and technology, and encourages cooperation and collaboration between scientists, governments, public and private sectors, NGOs and international organisations.

Thanks to the support of ISPRS Council, the Chinese

Government and all the participants, the Beijing Congress successfully followed the tradition of ISPRS Congresses: Informative, Special, Progressive, Relaxed and Successful. With plenty of academic and cultural events, the Congress was enjoyed both technically and socially by those who attended it.

This volume has been prepared to give you detailed information on the XXI ISPRS Congress in Beijing in 2008.

