From Our Members



Annual Conference of the German Society for Photogrammetry, Remote Sensing and Geoinformation (DGPF)

By Prof. Luhmann, President, DGPF, e-mail: luhmann@fh-oldenburg.de

The 24th annual conference of the German Society for Photogrammetry, Remote Sensing and Geoinformation (DGPF) was held at the University of Halle from 15th to 17th of September 2004. 90 presented papers and posters gave some 220 participants the opportunity to inform themselves about the latest developments in the areas of satellite and aerial imagery, camera and sensor technology, image analysis, geoinformatics, optical 3-D measurement as well as about academic training and standardisation problems. In addition, latest products and software solutions were presented in a commercial exhibition.

During the ordinary general assembly a new council was elected rotationally. Prof. Dr Thomas Luhmann, University of Applied Sciences Oldenburg, was elected unanamously as new president of the DGPF. He follows Dr Klaus Komp who was leading the Society during the period 2000-2004. The other members of the new council are the new vice-president Mrs. Prof. Dr Cornelia Glässer (University of Halle-Wittenberg), treasurer Dr Herbert Krauss (RWE Power AG, Köln), secretary Dr Manfred Wiggenhagen (University of Hannover), chief editor of the DGPF journal Photogrammetrie-Fernerkundung-Geoinformation (PFG) Prof. Dr Klaus Szangolies (lena) and the members of the advisory board Prof. Dr Monika Sester (University of Hannover), Prof. Dr Carsten Jürgens (Ruhr-Universität Bochum), Dr Eckhardt Seyfert (Landesvermessung und Geobasisinformation Brandenburg, Potsdam) and Dr Klaus Komp (EFTAS GmbH, Münster).



The new DGPF council (from left): Thomas Luhmann, Carsten Jürgens, Cornelia Glässer, Herbert Krauss, Monika Sester, Klaus Szangolies, Manfred Wiggenhagen, Klaus Komp, Eckhardt Seyfert, Jörg Albertz.

Jörg Albertz receiving the certificate of the Honorary President ship by Klaus Komp.



The annual Hansa-Luftbild Award for the best PFG publication was awarded to Dr Michael Cramer, University of Stuttgart, for his paper "Experiences with direct geo-referencing".

For the fourth time in its 95 year history the Society has announced an Honorary President. This extraordinary distinction was awarded to Prof. Dr Jörg Albertz (Technical University of Berlin) for his outstanding engagement for support and re-orientation of the DGPF society and its journal PFG. Up to the very last moment Jörg Albertz did not have any idea of the tribute so he received it quite surprised and with very high sympathies. The laudation was given by Prof. Dr Karl Kraus, Technical University of Vienna.

The active promotion of young scientists is one of the major objectives of the DGPF. Since 2003 the Youth Award is addressed to outstanding Diploma or Master thesises of students and graduates in the field of photogrammetry, remote sensing and geoinformation. The awards were granted to Jan Anderssohn (Technical University Berlin, I. place, 1000 Euro), Ellen Schwalbe (Technical University Dresden, 2. place, 500 Euro) and Michael Homoet (Bonn University, 3. place, 250 Euro). In addition the winners get a free one year DGPF-membership.

The conference was completed by a technical tour into the former open pit lignite mining areas of the Bitterfeld region and two social evening events in the historical city centre of Halle. The Society expresses her deep gratitude to Prof. Dr Cornelia Glässer and her team for the superb preparation and execution of the conference.

The next annual meeting of the DGPF will take place at the University of Rostock from September 21st to September 23rd, 2005 as a joint conference together with the German Cartographic Society (DGfK).