Deadlines for Submission

Awards not listed in the table do not require a formal submission.

Award	Deadline
Fellows	1 st February 2022
Otto von Gruber Award	1 st February 2022
Samuel Gamble Award	1 st February 2022
President's Honorary Citation	1 st February 2022
ISPRS Best Young Author Award	10 January 2022

Any general enquiries concerning awards should be made to Past President Chen Jun.

Contact Email Addresses

President: CHRISTIAN HEIPKE isprs-pr@isprs.org

Secretary General: LENA HALOUNOVÁ isprs-sg@isprs.org

Congress Director: NICOLAS PAPARODITIS isprs-cd@isprs.org

Past President: CHEN JUN

isprs-1st-vp@isprs.org

Vice President: CHARLES TOTH isprs-2nd-vp@isprs.org

Treasurer: SONGNIAN LI isprs-tr@isprs.org

ISPRS Congress Nice, 6-11 June 2022

ISPAS NICE

http://www.isprs2022-nice.com/ deadline for paper submissions : 10 January 2022

International Society for Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing



information from imagery

ADDITIONAL AWARDS OFFERED IN 2022

- Description
- Procedures for application
- Submission dates

Full rules and regulations are available at www.isprs.org /society/awards.aspx

ISPRS Awards & Honours

The International Society for Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing recognizes individual accomplishments through the sponsorship of awards and honours which are granted at each ISPRS Congress. Nominations for deserving candidates for awards are welcome and may be made by individuals or organizations at any time, but before the deadlines given overleaf. Each nomination must be in written form (e-mail is acceptable) and submitted to an ISPRS Council member. A web-based system will be provided to facilitate the on-line submission.

Due to the pandemic and the resulting shift by two years in the ISPRS calendar, we are now seeking additional nominations for some of the ISPRS awards.

The following is a brief summary of the awards and honours granted by ISPRS in 2022. The terms of reference for all awards are provided on the ISPRS web site www.isprs.org/documents/awards.aspx. Note that selfnomination is only possible for the von Gruber Award, the Best Young Author Award, and the CATCON Award.

An ISPRS Fellow (est. 2010) is elected by the Society in recognition of sustained, excellent service to the ISPRS and its aims. Nominations for fellowship may be made to the Fellows Committee which will recommend persons for election to the General Assembly. Nominations should be sent to President Christian Heipke by 1st February 2022.

The Otto von Gruber Award (est. 1964), sponsored by the Netherlands Center of Geodesy and Geo-informatics, is presented to a young author (less than 40 years) of one or more papers of outstanding merit in the photogrammetry, remote sensing and spatial information sciences, written in the period preceding the Congress. The award consists of a medal and a monetary grant. Applications may be self-nominated and must be sent to President Christian Heipke by 1st February 2022.

The Samuel Gamble Award (est. 1988), sponsored by the Canadian Institute of Geomatics, is presented to up to three individuals who have contributed significantly to the development, organization or professional activities of the photogrammetry, remote sensing and spatial information sciences, at national or international level. The award consists of a certificate. Nominations should be sent to Secretary General Lena Halounová by 1st February 2022.

The President's Honorary Citation (est. 1988) is a certificate of recognition presented by the President of ISPRS to a chairperson, co-chairperson or member of a Working Group of each ISPRS Technical Commission. The citation is to recognize special, personal and meritorious contributions to the operation of the relevant Technical Commission's activities, and advancement of

its interests during the tenure as Working Group Officer. Nominations should be made by the Technical Commission Presidents to President Christian Heipke by 1st February 2022.

The ISPRS Best Young Author Award (est. 1988), sponsored by donor organizations and by ISPRS, recognizes authors who are less than 35 years old and are the sole or 1st author of a high-quality paper presented to the Congress. Typically, one award is presented for each ISPRS Commission. Each award consists of a certificate and a SFr. 2,500 grant to enable the awardee to participate in the Congress. To be eligible, young authors must submit their paper before the submission deadline (10 January 2022) and indicate during submission that the contribution be considered for this award.

The ISPRS Best Poster Award (est. 1988). At the Congress, a total of 10 awards are sponsored by ISPRS. A jury for each of the five ISPRS Commissions evaluates the poster presentations and selects the two best posters from the Commission. The award consists of a gift and certificate from the Congress Director.

The ISPRS CATCON Award (est. 1996) At each Congress, the software contest CATCON is organised, sponsored by TIF - The ISPRS Foundation. The main objective is to promote the development and dissemination of effective and user-friendly, open-source and preferably non-commercial software designed and used for computer assisted teaching in one of the areas of interest of ISPRS. The award consists of a monetary grant (Gold Award SFr. 3,000, Silver Award SFr. 2,500, Bronze Award SFr. 1,500) and a certificate. To take part in the contest, participants must submit their proposal in written form, addressed to the Congress Director, before the beginning of the Congress.

The U. V. Helava Award (est. 2000), sponsored by Leica Geosystems AG and Elsevier Science, consists of a grand prize of SFr. 10,000 and a silver plaque presented to the author(s) of the most outstanding paper published exclusively in the ISPRS International Journal of Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing during the two years preceding the Congress, and one runner-up prize of a journal subscription and certificate, presented to the author(s) of the best paper published in the other year.

The Jack Dangermond Award (est. 2020), sponsored by ESRI and MDPI, consists of a grand prize of USD 10,000, presented to the author(s) of the most outstanding paper published exclusively in the ISPRS International Journal of Geo-Information during the two years preceding the Congress, and one runner-up prize of a journal subscription and certificate, presented to the author of the best paper published in the other year.