home  Home      home  ISPRS Foundation      sitemap  Sitemap      search  Search    
October 19, 2017 
ISPRS IPAC - International Policy Advisory Committe


The role of IPAC is to advise Council on issues relevant to Society interaction with intergovernmental organizations, especially those that relate to ISPRS collaborative activities with various elements of the United Nations, the International Council of Science (ICSU), the Committee on Peaceful Uses of Outer Space (COPUOS), the Committee on Earth Observation Satellites (CEOS), and other similar organizations.

IPAC Terms of Reference

  • Identify, coordinate and prioritize issues on which ISPRS should have a public policy.
  • Provide the ISPRS Council with early warning of relevant international policy issues and recommend spokespersons on these issues.
  • Flag legal issues, problems and scenarios which may arise in the context of ISPRS activities in the context to international policy issues.
  • Provide advice for and with the ISPRS Council on policy towards international organizations in which ISPRS is represented.
  • Collaborate with the ISPRS Council to provide policy advice when requested by international bodies.
  • Provide advice to, and coordinate inputs of, ISPRS Commissions and Working Groups on international policy issues.
  • Ensure any advocacy stances are fair and in the best interests of all segments of the ISPRS membership.


IPAC Membership

The IPAC Chair is appointed by Council, with Members selected by the Chair with ratification by Council. Members are selected based on their knowledge of international and national policy and legislative activities related to the mission and objectives of the Society. ISAC Members and activity shall be periodically reviewed by Council and adjusted in collaboration with the Chair. To ensure proper representation, the IPAC Chair will strive to maintain active participation representing both public, private and academic sector perspectives as well as global/regional perspectives on policy issues relevant to the Society. The following experts are currently members of the IPAC:


   IPAC MEMBER  Email  Country
1 Gunter Schreier (IPAC chair) gunter.schreier@dlr.de Germany
2 Rock Jeng-Shing CHERN jschern@cc.hc.cust.edu.tw Taiwan
3 Sias Mostert sias.mostert@spacecommercialservices.com South Africa
4 Ranganath Navalgund navalrr@gmail.com India
5 Irmgard Niemeyer Irmgard.Niemeyer@fz-juelich.de; i.niemeyer@fz-juelich.de Germany
6 Frans Von der Dunk fvonderdunk2@unl.edu USA
7 George Cho george.cho@canberra.edu.au Australia
8 Josef Aschbacher Josef.Aschbacher@esa.int Italy
9 Timothy Stryker tstryker@usgs.gov USA
10 Mathias Schardt mathias.schardt@joanneum.ac.at Austria
11 Delilah Al Khudhairy delilah.al-khudhairy@cec.eu.int Italy
12 Barbara Ryan bryan@geosec.org Switzerland
13 Olga Gershenzon olga@scanex.ru Russia
14 Matt O’Connell mattoconnell228@gmail.com USA
15 Etienne Massard K. Makaga massardetienne@gmail.com Gabon