home  Home      home  ISPRS Foundation      sitemap  Sitemap      search  Search    
May 24, 2017 

Internationale Gesellschaft für Photogrammetrie und Fernerkundung
Société Internationale de Photogrammétrie et de Télédétection

International Society for Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing

Mario Fondelli

ISPRS mourns the loss of two dedicated scientists

Mario Fondelli (1924-2017)

Mario Fondelli (26 October 1924 – 17 February 2017) was an engineer and full professor at the University of Florence. He carried out considerable theoretical and experimental studies in photogrammetry and spatial aerial triangulation and gave courses at the University of Venice, Modena; he was a visiting professor at the Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University in Blacksburg – Virginia (USA); at the Municipalidad de La Plata (Argentina), he was an honorary guest professor. Between 1988 and 1993, Mario was president of CIPA.

Yuri Tjuflin

Yuri Tjuflin (1934-2017)

Yuri Tjuflin passed away on 10 May. He was a famous Russian photogrammetrist who made great contributions to Russian space and planet photogrammetry including his work on Venus surface modelling based on “Venera-15” and “Venera-16” satellite imagery. Yuri received the ISPRS Brock Gold Medal in 1996 and was the president of the RSPRS.


The U. V. Helava Award Best Paper of volume 111-122 (2016) was awarded to
Wei Huang and Songnian Li for their paper
"Understanding human activity patterns based on space-time-semantics".


ISPRS is proud to announce a new ISPRS award:
The Jack Dangermond Award for the most outstanding paper in the ISPRS International Journal of Geo-Information


ISPRS Scientific Initiatives: Announcement of 2017 Funding
In accordance with the statutory mission and activities of ISPRS, the Society shall provide funds to support scientific and other initiatives, which will further improve its international status in the field of the photogrammetry, remote sensing and spatial information sciences, and will therefore benefit all ISPRS members. For 2017, the following seven projects were selected and approved by the Council for funding.

Title PI(s) TC/WG

Benchmark database for tropical agricultural remote sensing application

Ieda Del’Arco Sanches


SVSC – The UAV Semantic Video Segmentation Challenge 2017

Michael Ying Yang and Alper Yilmaz


ISPRS Benchmark Challenge on Large Scale Classification of VHR Geospatial Data

Ribana Roscher


Benchmark for Multi-Platform Hyperspectral Image Processing

Konstantinos Karantzalos


ISPRS Benchmark on Indoor Modeling

Kourosh Khoshelham


An ISPRS contribution to Transforming our World: Integration of GlobeLand30 with additional geospatial and socio-economic data for monitoring United Nation Sustainable Development Goals

Jon Mills and Hao Wu


Development of Educational Content: "Small UAS in Civil Engineering Applications"

Roman Shults

WG V/7

Brief summary of the above-awarded projects together with the information of their principle investigator(s) and co-investigator(s) you will find »here

More Announcements