The Gino Cassinis Award


Professor Gino Cassinis

In 1999 the Italian Society for Surveying and Photogrammetry (SIFET) established an award in honor of Professor Gino Cassinis and his school, students of which included Professors Luigi Solaini, Mariano Cunietti, Giuseppe Inghilleri and Giovanna Togliatti, who also made a significant contribution to ISPRS. Gino Cassinis was teacher of Applied Mathematics, Geodesy and Photogrammetry at the University of Pisa and at the Technical University (TU) of Milan, from the 1920s to the 1960s. In Milan he was also the Rector of the TU and the Mayor of the city.

The scientific work of Professor Gino Cassinis enhanced the mathematical and statistical foundations of the surveying and mapping disciplines. He served as President of ISPRS from 1934 - 1938, Congress Director of the 5th ISPRS Congress (Rome, 1938), and as President of ISPRS Technical Commissions for four terms. Furthermore he was elected as an Honorary Member of ISPRS.


Article 1
The award shall be known as The Gino Cassinis Award and shall normally be granted at each Congress of the International Society for Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing (ISPRS).

Article 2
The Gino Cassinis Award shall consist of a certificate and SwF 2,500, from the Italian Society for Surveying and Photogrammetry. Presentation shall be made at an appropriate event, preferably a plenary session or General Assembly of the Congress.

Article 3
The recipient shall be a person who has significantly enhanced the mathematical and statistical foundations of the photogrammetry, remote sensing or spatial information sciences in the 4 years preceding the Congress. All nominations shall be supported by appropriate documentary evidence of the candidate's work.

Article 4
Nominations for The Gino Cassinis Award shall reach the President of ISPRS not later than 6 months prior to the Congress at which it will be presented. Candidates may not self-nominate.

Article 5
The Jury of The Gino Cassinis Award shall consist of:

  • The President of ISPRS (Chair of Jury)
  • The Secretary General of ISPRS
  • The President of SIFET or its nominee.
The Jury shall decide no later than 4 months before the ISPRS Congress. The decision shall be made by simple majority. The Jury may decide not to present an award. The decision of the Jury shall be final.

Article 6
No Members of ISPRS Council or the Jury shall be eligible to receive the award.

The winners of the award

  • 2000 Wolfgang Förstner (Germany)
  • 2004 Sherman S.C.Wu (USA)
  • 2008 Zhilin Li (Hong Kong)



The International Society for Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing is a non-governmental organization devoted to the development of international cooperation for the advancement of photogrammetry and remote sensing and their applications. The Society operates without any discrimination on grounds of race, religion, nationality, or political philosophy.

Our Contact

Leibniz University Hannover
Institute of Photogrammetry and GeoInformation
Nienburger Str. 1
D-30167 Hannover