The Otto von Gruber Award


Otto von Gruber

On the initiative of Dr. Ir. W. Schermerhorn, the Board of the ITC Foundation decided on 26th September 1961 to set aside funds for the assignment of a periodic award in memory of Otto von Gruber. In 2015 the responsibility for the award was transferred to the Netherlands Center of Geodesy and Geo-informatics (NCG). The award will be made in accordance with the following amended regulations which have been approved by the Board of the NCG and the Council of The International Society for Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing.


Article 1
The Award shall be known as the Otto von Gruber Award and consist of a medal and a monetary grant. It will be made every four years to the author of a paper of outstanding merit in the photogrammetry, remote sensing and spatial information sciences. A person may be given the Award only once.

Article 2
An applicant for the Award must meet the following requirements:

  1. The Award will be made for one or more papers appearing in published editions of a peer reviewed journal.
  2. Submitted papers shall be written by the applicant only, or, when the applicant is author of a multi authored paper, when evidence is received that the main concept of the paper and the guidance of the co-authors are primarily the work of the applicant.
  3. The papers shall be published within the four years immediately preceding the year of the Congress of the International Society for Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing (ISPRS) at which the Award is to be presented.
  4. The applicant should not be older than 40 years on the opening day of the Congress and should have an academic degree in one of the disciplines relevant for scientific fields of ISPRS.

Article 3
An applicant for the Award shall submit the paper to the President of the ISPRS at least six months before the opening of the Congress. The paper may be written in any language, but must be submitted to the President in one of the official languages of ISPRS.

Article 4
A jury of individuals shall appraise the papers submitted to the President and, on the basis of a majority vote of the jury members, select the best paper, the author of which shall be the recipient of the Award. The jury shall be composed as follows:

  1. The President of ISPRS (who will have no vote except in the event of a tied vote);
  2. Three qualified individuals designated before each Award by the following authorities:
    1. The Council of the Deutsche Gesellschaft für Photogrammetrie, Fernerkundung und Geoinformation e. V. (DGPF).
    2. The Council of the United Kingdom Remote Sensing and Photogrammetry Society (RSPSoc).
    3. The Chairman of the Netherlands Center of Geodesy and Geo-informatics (NCG).
  3. If two of the jury members mentioned in paragraph b. wish to increase the number of members of the jury, the President of the ISPRS and the previous incumbent of the office each shall name a supplementary member who shall be of nationalities different from each other and different from German and British.
  4. No member of the jury, except the President of ISPRS, shall be from the same institution as any applicant for the Award.

Article 5
The jury is free to decide:

  1. to invite applications from persons, who did not submit an application, provided that the requirements stated in Article 2 are complied with;
  2. that no Award be made when, in its judgment, there is no paper of sufficient merit;
  3. that two Awards be made at one Congress when, in its judgment, the papers of two candidates are of equal merit.

Article 6
The decision of the jury is final.

Article 7
The result of the jury's decision shall be announced at a Plenary Session of the Congress and the Award shall then, whenever practicable, be presented to the recipient in person by the Secretary General or the President.

Article 8
In case any translation of the above regulations gives rise to ambiguity, the English text will be decisive.

Amendments approved by the Board of Governors of the ITC Foundation on 23rd January, 1986 and the ISPRS Council on 16th April, 1987.
Further amendments approved by the ITC Foundation, the UK RSPSoc and ISPRS Council on 17June 2004
Further amendments approved by the ITC Foundation, the UK RSPSoc and ISPRS Council on 9th September 2009.
Further amendments approved by the Board of the NCG and ISPRS Council on July 08, 2015.
Further amendments approved by the Board of the NCG and ISPRS Council on September 16, 2021.

The winners of the award

  • 1964 F. Ackermann, Germany
  • 1972 H. Ebner and J. Hoehle, Germany
  • 1976 F. Leberl, Austria
  • 1980 A. Gruen, USA
  • 1988 P. Curran, Great Britain
  • 1992 C. Heipke, Germany
  • 1996 H.G. Maas, Switzerland
  • 2000 H. Mayer, Germany and M.G. Vosselman, The Netherlands
  • 2004 S. Heuel, Switzerland
  • 2008 M. Butenuth, Germany
  • 2012 Jan-Henrik Haunert, Germany
  • 2016 Wai Yeung Yan, Canada
  • 2020 not awarded
  • 2022 Chenglu Wen, China



The International Society for Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing is a non-governmental organization devoted to the development of international cooperation for the advancement of photogrammetry and remote sensing and their applications. The Society operates without any discrimination on grounds of race, religion, nationality, or political philosophy.

Our Contact

Leibniz University Hannover
Institute of Photogrammetry and GeoInformation
Nienburger Str. 1
D-30167 Hannover