The U. V. Helava Award

Best Paper for the period 2000-2003

The U.V. Helava Award, one of the most prestigious ISPRS awards, was established in 1998 and first presented in 2000 to encourage and stimulate submission of high quality scientific papers by individual authors or groups to the ISPRS Journal, to promote and advertise the Journal, and to honour the outstanding contributions of Dr. Uuno V. Helava, a leading photogrammetrist and developer of analytical and digital systems, to research and development in Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing. The Award is presented to authors of the best paper, written in English and published exclusively in the ISPRS Journal during the four-year period from January of a Congress year to December of the year prior to the next Congress. The recipients of the Award may receive it only once.


The award consists of a monetary grant of 10,000 SFr., certificates and a silver plaque. It is sponsored by Elsevier B.V. and Leica Geosystems GIS & Mapping, LLC, while the Institute of Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing (Prof. Henrik Haggrén), Helsinki University of Technology (the University where Helava studied) paid half the costs for the silver plaque. The plaque was designed with care and enthusiasm by the 1980-88 ISPRS Technical Commission III President, Einari Kilpelä, previously professor at the Helsinki University of Technology.


A five-member jury, comprising experts of high scientific standing, whose expertise covers the main topics included in the scope of the Journal, evaluated 114 papers for the period 2000-2003. For each year of the four-year evaluation period, the Best Paper was selected and has been announced in the ISPRS Journal, ISPRS Highlights and on the WEB sites of ISPRS and Elsevier. Among these four papers, the one to receive the U.V. Helava Award was selected. The winner is the paper (published in Vol. 58, Issue 5-6)


external link  Extraction, modelling, and use of linear features for restitution of airborne hyperspectral imagery

Changno Lee1, James S. Bethel2

(1)Spatial Imagery Information Research Team, ETRI, 161 Gajeong-dong, Yuseong-gu, Daejeon, 305-350, South Korea
(2)Geomatic Engineering, 1284 Civil Engineering Building, Purdue University, West Lafayette, IN, USA

image image


Jury's rationale for the paper selection

This clearly written, instructive and informative paper deals with the semi-automated line extraction and incorporation into the orientation process for linear array CCD sensors, an interesting, important and very relevant topic, considering the current development of digital aerial cameras and existing problems in the orientation of linear CCDs. The authors use up-to-date techniques for trajectory modelling, line feature extraction and their integration into the geometric sensor model and provide convincing and thorough experimental tests and a transparent analysis of the results. This research provides a very good balance between theory and practice, while its high practical significance increases by the use of GPS/INS and reduction of the needed control line features.


The U.V. Helava Award will be presented at the Opening Session of the 20th ISPRS Congress on July 14th in Istanbul, by John Trinder, ISPRS President, and representatives of the sponsors.

On behalf of the ISPRS and the U.V. Helava Award jury, I would like to congratulate the authors for this distinction and thank them for their contribution. I would also like to thank the sponsors of the Award, and especially the jury members for their hard work and thorough evaluation for a period of nearly two years.


Emmanuel P. Baltsavias Editor-in-Chief, ISPRS Journal of Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing


The International Society for Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing is a non-governmental organization devoted to the development of international cooperation for the advancement of photogrammetry and remote sensing and their applications. The Society operates without any discrimination on grounds of race, religion, nationality, or political philosophy.

Our Contact

Leibniz University Hannover
Institute of Photogrammetry and GeoInformation
Nienburger Str. 1
D-30167 Hannover