The ISPRS Fritz Ackermann Award


Prof. Dr. Fritz Ackermann

The publisher of the ISPRS Open Journal of Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing (herein referred to as 'the Journal'), Elsevier B.V., and Trimble, Inc. have agreed to jointly present "The ISPRS Fritz Ackermann Award"* to encourage and stimulate submission of high-quality scientific papers by individual authors or groups to the Journal, to promote and advertise the Journal, and to honour the outstanding contributions of Prof. Dr.-Ing. Friedrich (Fritz) Ackermann to research and development in photogrammetry and remote sensing.  The award will be made in accordance with the following regulations.


Article 1

The award, which consists of a certificate and a grant of EUR 10,000, will be presented every four years to the author(s) of an outstanding paper on one of the topics included in the scope of the Journal.  The recipient(s) of the ISPRS Fritz Ackermann Award shall receive the award only once.

Article 2

Candidates for the award shall be authors of a paper written in English, and published exclusively in the journal during the four-year period from 1 January of a Congress year, to 31 December of the year prior to the next Congress (referred herein as 'the evaluation period').  For papers by multiple authors, the grant shall be split equally among the authors; certificates will be given to each of them.

Article 3

A five-member jury, comprising experts of high scientific standing, whose expertise covers the main topics included in the scope of the Journal, shall be proposed by the Editor-in-Chief of the Journal and approved by the ISPRS Council.  Jury members shall be designated by ISPRS Council at its last meeting of the year prior to the Congress, for the four-year evaluation period of the award.  The Editor-in-Chief of the Journal shall serve as secretary of the jury, without voting rights.

Article 4

The jury shall select the best paper published in the Journal for each year of the evaluation period (referred to herein as 'best papers').  The author(s) of the best papers shall be announced annually in the Journal, ISPRS eBulletin and the ISPRS website. Individuals may receive recognition as authors of best papers more than once. At the end of the evaluation period, the jury shall select the most outstanding paper of the four best papers of the evaluation period, for receipt of the ISPRS Fritz Ackermann Award.  The authors of the three runner-up best papers shall receive certificates.

Article 5

Members of the jury and the Editor-in-Chief shall not be eligible to receive the ISPRS Fritz Ackermann Award or 'best paper' award.

Article 6

The Award shall be presented to the recipient(s) by the President of ISPRS and a representative of each sponsor at a plenary session of the Congress.

*The name "Fritz Ackermann" is used with kind permission of his brother Helmut Ackermann and his family.

Approved by the Award Sponsors and ISPRS Council on 12 March.2023.


The winners of the award

Period 2022-2025



The International Society for Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing is a non-governmental organization devoted to the development of international cooperation for the advancement of photogrammetry and remote sensing and their applications. The Society operates without any discrimination on grounds of race, religion, nationality, or political philosophy.

Our Contact

Leibniz University Hannover
Institute of Photogrammetry and GeoInformation
Nienburger Str. 1
D-30167 Hannover