The Fritz Ackermann Award

Best Paper 2023

The publisher of the ISPRS Open Journal of Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing, Elsevier B.V., and Trimble, Inc., have recently agreed to establish the ISPRS Fritz Ackermann Award to encourage and stimulate submission of high-quality scientific papers by individual authors or groups to the ISPRS Open Journal of Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing, to promote and advertise the Journal, and to honour the outstanding contributions of Prof.Dr.-Ing. Friedrich (Fritz) Ackermann to research and development in photogrammetry and remote sensing.

The Award is presented to authors of the best paper published exclusively in the ISPRS Open Journal during the four-year period from January of a Congress year, to December of the year prior to the next Congress. As an exception, the period for the first Award will cover the five-year period starting in 2021. The Award consists of a certificate and a grant of €10,000. A five-member Jury, comprising experts of high scientific standing, whose expertise covers the main topics included in the scope of the Journal, evaluates the papers. For each year of the evaluation period, the best paper is selected, and from these papers, the one to receive the ISPRS Fritz Ackermann Award will be selected. The first ISPRS Fritz Ackermann will be presented at the 25th ISPRS Congress in Toronto in 2026.

The Jury appointed by the ISPRS Council evaluated the papers published in 2023 and announces its decision for the Best Paper. The winner of the 2023 Best Paper Award is:


"Model-based constraints for trajectory determination of quad-copters: Design, calibration & merits for direct orientation"

by Kenneth Joseph Paul 1, Davide Antonio Cucci 1, and Jan Skaloud 1


1 École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL), ENAC School of Architecture Civil and Environmental Engineering, Station 18, Lausanne, 1010, Vaud, Switzerland



Kenneth Joseph Paul Davide Antonio Cucci Jan Skaloud
Kenneth Joseph Paul Davide Antonio Cucci Jan Skaloud


published in volume 7, January 2023,


Jury's rationale for the paper selection

The authors present an interesting and novel approach to improve direct georeferencing of quadcopters by including model-based constraints or a Vehicle Dynamic Model. This enables replacing a costly IMU by a small low-cost IMU already integrated in the UAV’s autopilot. Monte-Carlo simulations demonstrated the feasibility of the approach and the potential to reduce costs of UAV-based laser scanning systems.

On behalf of the ISPRS and the ISPRS Fritz Ackermann Jury, I would like to congratulate the authors for this distinction and thank them for their contribution. I would also like to thank the sponsors of the Award, and the Jury members for their thorough evaluations.

George Vosselman
Editor-in-Chief ISPRS Open Journal of Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing
University of Twente, Faculty ITC,the Netherlands
Email address:





The International Society for Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing is a non-governmental organization devoted to the development of international cooperation for the advancement of photogrammetry and remote sensing and their applications. The Society operates without any discrimination on grounds of race, religion, nationality, or political philosophy.

Our Contact

Leibniz University Hannover
Institute of Photogrammetry and GeoInformation
Nienburger Str. 1
D-30167 Hannover