home  Home      home  ISPRS Foundation      sitemap  Sitemap      search  Search    
October 21, 2019 
The Samuel Gamble Award


Dr. Samuel G. Gamble

In 1984 the Canadian Institute of Surveying and Mapping resolved to sponsor an award in honour of Dr. Samuel G. Gamble, former President of the International Society for Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing and Director of the 1972 Congress. Establishment of the award was approved by the Council of the International Society for Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing in March 1985. The award is to be granted according to the following regulations:



Article 1
The award shall be known as The Samuel Gamble Award, and it will be granted at each Congress of the International Society for Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing (ISPRS).

Article 2
Up to three awards may be made at each ISPRS Congress.

Article 3
A recipient of the award shall be a person who, like Dr. Gamble, has contributed significantly to the development, organization or professional activities of photogrammetry and/or remote sensing, at the national or international level.

Article 4
The award shall consist of a certificate, issued by the Canadian Institute of Geomatics.

Article 5
The recipient(s) of the award shall be selected by a selection board consisting of the President of the Canadian Institute of Geomatics, or his or her nominee, and two individuals appointed by the Council of ISPRS.

Article 6
No member of the Council of ISPRS shall be eligible to receive the award while serving on the Council.

Article 7
The award shall be presented during a General Assembly of the ISPRS Congress.

The winners of the award

  • 1988
    O.Coker, Nigeria
    B.A.Sikilo, Kenya
    J.Van der Weele, Netherlands
  • 1992
    M.Carbonnell, France
    G.Hildebrandt, Germany
    S.Vibulsresth, Thailand
  • 1996
    P.Waldhäusl, Austria
    M.Araya Figueroa, Chile
  • 2000
    A.Abiodun, Nigeria
    B.Forster, Australia
  • 2004
    Ray Harris, UK
    Haggai Nyalopa, Kenya
    Victor Savinykh, Russia
  • 2008
    Wilber K. Ottichilo, Kenya
    Jide Kufoniyi, Nigeria
    Li Deren, China
  • 2012
    Kohei Cho, Japan
  • 2016
    Naser El Sheimy, Canada