Technical Commissions and Working Groups


The scientific and technical work of the ISPRS is accomplished by seven Technical Commissions. Each Commission is entrusted to an Ordinary Member organization for the four-year term between Congresses. Ordinary Members seeking responsibility for a Commission submit proposals for hosting the Commission and are elected by the General Assembly at the Congress. The direction of a Technical Commission is the responsibility of a President and Secretary, acting with the support of the hosting Ordinary Member, and with the guidance and approval of the Council. Technical Commissions organize Working Groups, and each Commission arranges a Symposium between Congresses, for which it is entirely responsible. The culmination of the Technical Commission's operation is the selection of papers to be presented at the Congress held at the conclusion of the four-year period.

Commission I
Sensors, Platforms and Imagery

Commission II
Systems for Data Processing, Analysis and Representation

Commission III
Theory and Algorithms


Commission IV
Spatial Information Systems and Digital Mapping

Commission V
Close-Range Vision Techniques


Commission VI
Education and Communications

Commission VII
Resource and Environmental Monitoring



Technical Commissions and Working Groups 1996-2000

Technical Commissions and Working Groups 1992-1996


The International Society for Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing is a non-governmental organization devoted to the development of international cooperation for the advancement of photogrammetry and remote sensing and their applications. The Society operates without any discrimination on grounds of race, religion, nationality, or political philosophy.

Our Contact

Leibniz University Hannover
Institute of Photogrammetry and GeoInformation
Nienburger Str. 1
D-30167 Hannover